Hip-hop producers

10 Dec

I don’t really know why, but the last months I am really into hip-hop. All kinds of hip-hop, legends like Wu-Tang, Nas and Biggie, but also newer stuff like Mos Def, Masta Ace and The Roots. The honest stories about the struggles of American youth in combination with the rawness in which they deliver it, really touches a string.

Apart from the rhymes I got more and more interested in the beats behind the music and started to look up the producers. The raw drums and soulful samples just groove so much, you can’t deny it. Producers like DJ Premier (see the Regeneration Music Project post), Pete Rock and J Dilla are true legends.

Listen to these songs and y’all know what I mean:

Nas – NY State Of Mind (production DJ Premier)

I.N.I. – Fakin’ Jax (production Pete Rock)

And this must be one of the all-time best (hip-hop) intros: J Dilla, thank you for this song! Common – Be

Leave a comment