Best of Blue Note

10 Dec

On Dude, What’s My Food? I shared one of my Sinterklaas presents with you, now I’ll show you another one. I also got a box called Best of Blue Note, containing fifteen albums of true jazz legends on the famous record label. Almost all the famous jazz names made albums for Blue Note, like Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, Chet Baker and so on. I can tell you, those are not the least names in jazz music. And all of them are in the box. And not only their albums, every cd goes together with a book, telling the story of the artist and the album together with beautiful pictures.

Here some songs of the albums. Listen to it, and you’ll realize what a legendary record label Blue Note was.

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Moanin’

Herbie Hancock – Maiden Voyage

John Coltrane – Blue Train

Bill Evans & Jim Hall – My Funny Valentine

I still have to listen closer to all the albums, so there is probably more to follow. But this will keep you excited for the time being.

 

Leave a Reply

